Valor in Vietnam – Now in Stock

We’re pleased to announce that Valor in Vietnam, 1963-1977: Chronicles of Honor, Courage, and Sacrifice is now available from Casemate Publishers.

Valor in Vietnam is an acecdotal history of America’s war in Vietnam composed of nineteen firsthand narratives by Vietnam War veterans presented in chronological order. These are stories include celebrated characters in the veteran community, compelling war narratives, vignettes of battles, and the emotional impact on the combatants.

To learn more about this great collection of Vietnam War stories, we talked to author Allen Clark about his new book.

Why did you decide to write this book?

In my service to our country as a senior political appointee at the Department of Veterans Affairs for four years and service at the Dallas VA Medical Center for nine years, it has been my privilege to cross paths with hundreds of veterans all of whom enriched my life with the stories they told with pride of their own military service. Originally, it was my intent to capture stories of WWII, but as I began to collect these stories in the early 2000’s, the memories were fading and some subjects even died during the interview process. Therefore, I decided to interview my fellow veterans from my own war, Vietnam.

How much research did you do for the book?

My book has forty-two sources, books, articles, website, etc. The stories in my book required extensive and exhaustive confirmation of histories, geography, and place names with locations. It is probable I spend several hundred hours in my research. Additionally, my stories required extensive contact by messaging and personal conversations with my subjects to derive the stories.

What do you like the most about your book? Why should we read it?

Every war continues to dwell in the lives it touched, the lives of those living through that time, and in those absorbed by its historical significance. The Vietnam War lives on famously or infamously dependent on political points of view, but those who have “been there, done that” have a highly personalized window on their participation in that history.

This book literally runs the gamut of all branches who served in the conflict, in all geographic areas of the country, and in all the years from 1963-1977. There is courage, sacrifice, commitment, romance, pain, sorrow, tears, and wrenching of our very souls. It encompasses a broad sweep of the period historically told in highly vivid personal stories. In my opinion, Veterans of the war, their families, and aficionados of histories of war will all find this book of interest. For me, it personally represents an attempt to bring honor to my fellow patriots who served at a time and in a place that was highly controversial, but  through it all we performed admirably our duties.

One thought on “Valor in Vietnam – Now in Stock

Leave a Reply

