Art Wiknik meets Toby Keith

A couple of months ago, Casemate’s Art Wiknik, author of Nam Sense: Surviving Vietnam with the 101st Airborne Division, was invited to be the special guest at Toby Keith’s concert. Read Art’s recollection of this great experience below:

Art with Toby
Art with Toby Keith

Last May when country singer Toby Keith and his crew were flying home from a USO show in Guam, they watched the History Channel’s Vietnam in HD.  While viewing my commentary it was decided that I should be invited to their August 25th Hammer Down Tour concert in nearby Hartford, Connecticut.  The tour manager reached out and made the invitation official, which included my wife and three daughters.  In the meantime, the tour manager downloaded a copy of my book Nam Sense and was so impressed with it that he emailed me several times in regard to some of the book’s characters and events.  He also instructed me to bring an autographed copy of Nam Sense for Toby Keith because he loves to read veteran’s stories.

Toby with Nam Sense
Toby checking out his signed copy of Nam Sense

On the night of the concert, I was able to spend a few minutes with Toby prior to the show.  We talked briefly about my Vietnam service and how he admires the soldiers of my generation.  As an added bonus, I was asked to bring out his American flag guitar for his last number when several veterans from the audience are asked to join him on stage.  I felt proud and honored to spend a unique evening with a true patriot.

Leave a Reply

